Lunch, Hong Kong-Style

26 May

This is where we had our first meal in Hong Kong.

After spending some time in our rooms, we went out to Haiphong Road to look for a place to eat. We wanted to try a local restaurant. So when we spotted Golden Lake Restaurant and had seen the affordable meals on their menu, we went inside.

It is just a very small place where people only eat and leave as soon as they are done. It is unlike the usual restaurants we have here where people idle away their time chatting and eating.

On a totally unrelated note, I am trying out this collage effect I recently learned. Thanks to Jestina for teaching me. πŸ™‚

There were a lot of diners that we initially had to separate into two groups and share tables with other customers. But since people walk out of the restaurant right after finishing their meals, all six of us eventually got seated in one small, round table at a corner.

I paid 30 HKD for this meal.

I ordered a pork chop meal. It had two slices of pork and a big helping of rice. I hardly finished everything. I noticed that food in Hong Kong come in big portions.

I did not order any drinks. I always carried around with me a bottle of Bonaqua from 7 eleven. Let me just tell you that this water did not cause me any stomach trouble. Plus, this is a product of Coca- Cola so you can be assured of the quality.

A 1.5L bottle costs less than 10 HKD. (Photo from Google.)

The taste of the pork chop was okay. Although, I would have wanted it well done as it was a little too tender for me. πŸ˜‰

5 Responses to “Lunch, Hong Kong-Style”

  1. Jestina May 31, 2010 at 5:55 am #

    Oh nice, you learnt pretty fast! (:

  2. slaveboi May 31, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    The porkchop meal looks like it could feed two people! Yum! :p

    • wanderingandhappy June 9, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      It actually can, CJ. But it was good I had this big meal because I needed the energy for all the walking. πŸ˜‰

  3. slaveboi May 31, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    And Pam looks so cute and lost. LOL. :p

Leave a Reply

