First Day in Siquijor

10 Jun

We were still far from the exit when I spotted my name written on a small blackboard. The driver from Princesa Bulakna Resort came to pick us up.

First glimpse of the island of Siquijor

The drive to the resort took another 45 minutes.

Almost there...

Before the trip, I made a reservation for two standard rooms. The woman I talked to  said we would have a bay view. What I didn’t expect was the steep climb to get to the rooms from the restaurant.

Guests proceed to the restaurant upon arrival to register

We didn’t want to go up and down several times a day. So when one of the resort staff  said they have a family room available that’s very near the restaurant, we immediately took it.

The one with the window is our room.

Some of us ordered lunch as soon as we got settled. The others just ate the chicken and rice that the family brought inside the room. Guests are charged if they bring food. But I would say it was a good thing that we did. The resort may have an impressive menu, but many of the things in the list were unavailable. We even had to wait for more than an hour before our food arrived.

Our lunch. The shrimp curry (220 PHP) was not spicy as my aunt specifically requested and only had a few pieces of shrimps. The fish (170 PHP) was served cold. 😦

After the disappointing lunch, we all went to sleep. It was too hot that we would be doing ourselves a favor if we stay indoors. Besides, we needed to rest from all the traveling.

We woke up in time for dinner. Boy, was I glad the dinner was so much better. I even forgot to pictures! ;p (I think the picture of the inviting pool below makes up for it. Or is it just me? LOL)

This is one of the two swimming pools in the resort.

Anyway, here’s what we had:

Rice (100 PHP)
Chopsuey (130 PHP). This one had fresh vegetables. They were also more generous with the shrimp.
Bihon Guisado (150 PHP). I found this a little too oily.
Buttered Chicken– half (220 PHP)
Fresh catch of the day (180 PHP/kl + 100 PHP for having them cooked). We just finished our lunch when we were informed that some fishermen just brought in some fresh catch. We had a look and chose only 5 pieces of unfamiliar- looking fishes. We asked for the fishes to be grilled and served while they are still hot for dinner. They did just that. And this was the best part of the dinner. 😉

After dinner, there was really nothing that we can do. We can’t even go drinking because their stocks were running low. There was nothing much to choose from. So, we just played cards inside the room until we were ready to call it a night.

2 Responses to “First Day in Siquijor”

  1. Jojo July 13, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    Coolness! I must do this! I’ve always wanted to visit Siquijor. – Lakwatsero

Leave a comment