Hundred Islands in Alaminos City, Pangasinan

5 Aug

I have dreamed of going to Hundred Islands since I was in kindergarten. I was still very young when my mom’s friend came to our house. She just came back from her vacation. She shared how she enjoyed her time in Hundred Islands. It must have been with how her face brightened up as she was describing her experience and her overflowing excitement that got me to promise myself:  I will also visit that place someday.

Fast track to 2007, a few days after my Pagsanjan trip, I found myself and C on a bus to Pangasinan.

Hundred Islands is about 5 hours away from Manila. I used to think these islands were very small that they are just a few steps away from each other. I really thought you can explore all one hundred islands by foot! Much to my surprise, it did not turn out like that.

They were this size. Some were even much bigger!

Well, we didn’t actually see the islands until the next day. Since we arrived in Alaminos around7 PM, we just checked in to a resort. Its name escapes me now.

This is just one of the beds in the room. Shame on the T&B, though. It was just too small for my liking.

We went to the wharf early the next day. We got a small boat since there were only us two.

I think we paid about 600- 750 php for the boat.

Our boatman gave us the names of the islands as we pass by them. He mentioned Marcos Island, Governor’s island where there’s a Pinoy Big Brother (reality TV show) house, and  Quezon island where most boats make a stopover. Guests can go swimming and cook here. This is where we rented a kayak.

Some islands are not developed and don't have names

At that time, a lot of people where in Quezon island so I convinced C that we go to another island. It was C’s first time to try kayaking. I’m sure she found it a fun challenge to kayak all the way to Lopez island.

It was a long way for us to get to Lopez island but it really made our adventurous spirits happy.

Lopez island is great for sunbathing. We got to enjoy the clear waters and fine sand all to ourselves. It was like we have our very own island.

The island farthest in the background is the Quezon island.

We stayed for a few hours just swimming and getting baked.We also looked for shells and whatnot from the sea.

Limestones behind C

We didn’t bring anything to eat. So when we could no longer ignore our stomachs, we had to leave. The current by this time was significantly stronger. But we made it safely back to Quezon island.

We then went back to the resort for some food.

C shocked by the amount of food we have to devour

Me feeling all excited to finally fill my stomach with something

After lunch, we hurriedly packed our things and checked out so we can catch an earlier bus to Manila.

The view outside our room and C with her funny face! ;p

It was really a great trip! And I proudly ticked it off the list. ;)

2 Responses to “Hundred Islands in Alaminos City, Pangasinan”

  1. mct88 August 20, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    ah the food! love it!

    • Kat August 30, 2010 at 5:02 am #

      Delicious! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

