How I Entered Taiwan without a Visa

15 Jun

Taiwan

So I got the chance to visit Japan again last spring. And it was as beautiful as ever. But I digress. Still, Japan is important in this article. Because I went there and my Japan visa (the process to acquire one is still the same as in here) was still a few weeks valid after the end of my trip, I decided to payย Taiwan a visit before finally returning home.

As it turned out, if you’re a Filipino who has a valid Japan visa, you don’t need to apply for a visa to enter Taiwan. All you have to do is get a Travel Authorization Certificate online.

I was surprised at how easy it was. But here are some things you have to remember should you wish to get one:

1. Mine was a single-entry visa to Japan. So it was considered invalid after I used it. However, I was still able to get the certificate because:

a. I used my Japan visa prior to visiting Taiwan; and

b. I arrived in Taiwan before the expiration date indicated on my Japan visa.

2. Accordiing to the official website, the basic requirements include:

a. The applicant’s passport is valid for at least six months. (This means that the passport is valid for at least six months when its holder arrives in Taiwan and not when the application is filed online.)

b. The applicant should possess a return plane or ferry ticket.– I did not purchase my return ticket prior to acquiring a travel certificate. There’s no part in the application where you will be asked to provide your ticket details.

c. The applicant is never employed as a blue-collar worker in Taiwan.

3. You can print out the certificate right after getting approved. Have it at the ready when you present your passport at the check-in counter.

*If you made any mistakes while filling in the form, don’t fret. You can just re-apply.

Taiwan Travel Certificate

13 Responses to “How I Entered Taiwan without a Visa”

  1. Sherwin November 27, 2015 at 3:39 pm #

    I think we have similar case. My family will travel to taiwan on dec 10. We have just arrived from japan last November 26. Our japan visa is also single entry and valid until jan 2016. We are confused on what we read on the embassy website regarding the online approval.
    1. Do you think we still need to apply for taiwan visa?
    2. If not, should we just apply online and did you encounter any issues in the immigration area?

    Thanks so much for response. Your post is really helpful.

    • Kat November 27, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

      Hi Sherwin, from my experience, I just put in my information online so I can be issued a travel certificate. I printed that one out and presented it upon check in. I only had my travel certificate and my unexpired Japan visa when I went to Taiwan and I did not encounter any problems. The immigration officers just looked at my documents and did not ask any questions. Unless they made any recent changes to the system, I’m sure there’s nothing you have to worry about. Enjoy your trip! Prepare your stomach too for the awesome Taiwanese food! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Sherwin November 28, 2015 at 8:38 am #

        thank you Kat. Your response really ease our worries. Also, less hassle applying another visa ๐Ÿ™‚ take care and godbless

      • Kat November 28, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

        You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Sherwin November 29, 2015 at 12:22 pm #

        Hi Kat, sorry to bother you again. The documentation officer (friend of a friend) of a travel agency has informed us that once the single entry visa is used it is considered invalid and we need to apply for taiwan visa.
        We actually got the travel certificate online already yesterday. And we are so worried that we might get denied in the immigration counter.
        In your case, did you enter taiwan directly from japan or did you come back to the philippines first before you enter taiwan? At that time, all you have was just the japan single entry visa (that was used already)? We are now in the philippines.

  2. Kat November 29, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

    I flew from Manila to Taiwan. Yes, I only had my travel certificate and a USED but still UNEXPIRED Japan visa. I remember being apprehensive at that time thinking what if they will ask me for an actual visa, but they did not. From what I have read prior to my trip, you have to enter Japan first (therefore, making your single-entry Japan visa invalid after) and enter Taiwan BEFORE IT EXPIRES. If you enter Taiwan without having visited Japan first (rendering your Japan visa unused), Taiwan government will not allow you to enter the country. You have to use your Japan visa to enter Japan first. Not as way to enter Taiwan without having to apply for a Taiwan visa. So as long as it is still unexpired when you plan to enter Taiwan, it’s okay.

    I am just not aware of any changes to how things work, if there are any.

    • Sherwin November 29, 2015 at 8:30 pm #

      Thank you for your prompt reply i really appreciate it. Thanks to your blog and quick response to my questions it gave me clear understanding of the taiwan visa exception policy ๐Ÿ˜Š

  3. Amrel September 10, 2016 at 6:52 pm #

    Hi! I’ve been browsing the net looking for tips on acquiring Taiwan “travel authorization cert”. I followed the steps, and reached the “approved” phase, unfortunately I wasn’t able to print it since I am using my Android phone, and had a problem connecting it to the printer. Do you have any idea what to do? How can I access the approval? Or do I have to apply again? Big thanks.

    • Kat September 17, 2016 at 9:10 am #

      Hi Amrel, it’s been a while since I applied for the travel certificate so I can’t remember much about the details. But maybe you can download the certificate to your phone and print it later?

  4. Lin November 16, 2016 at 9:39 pm #

    Hello! I applied for the Taiwan visa, but realized that the passport expiration date I put was wrong :(( I’m trying to reapply but it won’t accept the info when I type in a different date :(( help!!

    • Kat November 29, 2016 at 9:51 pm #

      Hi Lin, were you able to get your Taiwan Visa with the right passport expiration date?

  5. nicca November 29, 2016 at 6:03 pm #

    Hi Kat! Mine’s already approved. But Im worried, coz I have my Schengen Visa in my old passport. Is that ok? Coz I renewed my passport already. Thank you!

    • Kat November 29, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      Well, I’m not really sure about that. But maybe you could carry your old passport with you to show the Schengen Visa if that would be asked of you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

